BUYING BOOKS?

Reasons I Rarely Buy Books:

  • Money. I don’t have a job, but I am expected to pay for my own stuff, so books aren’t really what I want to spend it on. The only time I really get books is if my parents buy me them or I have a gift card.
  • I love the library! It’s one of my favorite places. It’s quiet and air-conditioned and no one can bother me there. My mom used to take me to the library really often as a kid, so I’ve always loved to go there and check out books.
  • The closest book store is a Barnes & Noble half an hour away. All I have is a learner’s permit, so I can’t drive, and plus, I’ve always been a Borders girl (although that’s not an option anymore *sob*). Barnes & Noble is kind of overpriced, and I would like to support independent bookstores if I did buy books.
  • I don’t have enough space! My room is really, really small and books already take up a lot of space in there.
  • Whenever I do actually buy books, they end up sitting unread for a long time. I’m a very moody reader and I only read what I’m really in the mood for, which changes very often.
  • I don’t reread very often, and I think a lot of the books that I read now, I will have no interest in the future (they will probably even embarrass me a bit).

One day, I would love to buy every book I read, but that’s some day, not now. I would probably miss the library though!

2 thoughts on “BUYING BOOKS?

  1. Wow, I can’t imagine not buying books! You are so restrained and logical. 🙂 I on the other hand can’t resist buying books even if I know I’ve run out of space/should save the money/will probably never read them again. I think I need to hire someone who will poke me in the ribs every time I go to a bookstore, LOL, it’s the only way to stop me. I should use the library more too, but I find it so painful to give the books back again! I could learn a lot from your approach to book buying. 🙂

    • I understand wanting to buy books though! I’m just stingy and removed from any temptation since it’s a pain to go to the bookstore. Thanks for visiting my blog!

Leave a Reply

